It's the autism in me that makes this as obvious as it is, but to all of the people with the belief of 'the real Opening Day isn't until tomorrow', the first game of the season is being played tonight. Thereby...it opens the season. So today is Opening Day. I'm sorry I've avoided the nuance, but that's just how I see it.
Starting the season with Yankees-Giants is odd but somewhat understandable. These two teams did, in fact, used to play just down the road from each other. I've said that I come from a long line of Yankee fans, but the truth is my grandfather came from a long line of New York Giants fans. The last time the Yankees began the season playing the Giants was, if you'll recall, 2023, and the rumor going into the offseason was that this was planned with the knowledge that San Francisco was where then-free-agent Aaron Judge was favoring [given it's near home and all]. Henceforth, the Giants-Yanks series on a yearly basis has been dubbed, by me at least, the Arson Judge Classic. Because the Giants thought they'd be starting the season with Judge, and they started the season, instead, with Blake Sabol.
Now, 3 years later...not a ton has changed. The Giants have a new manager, Tony Vitello, trying to establish more of a college-coach-to-MLB-coach pipeline, and he's hoping to be more of a Jim Harbaugh and less of a Chip Kelly. But aside from that, it's two teams with similar strategies and different luck. Both teams are using money and roster building to stick themselves into an already crowded divisional setup- the Yankees have had more success, and look to be a major contender this year, while the Giants still haven't made the playoffs since Posey retired. If he gets in the Hall of Fame next year it'll be even more damning.
It's not like the Giants don't try, they've brought genuine talent to the bay, and have Matt Chapman, Willy Adames, Jung Ho Lee and now Willy Adames in prime position. It's the development that's been really an issue. Joey Bart was a slam dunk, now he's a DH in Pittsburgh. Marco Luciano was supposed to be the next OF star, he's now swimming around the Yankees minor league system. Hayden Birdsong and Kyle Harrison were primed for starring roles, now Birdsong is out til next May and Harrison is hoping to get playing time in Milwaukee. When Drew Gilbert, another big time prospect, struggled upon a 2025 call-up, I saw the trend very plainly. I get that the new Posey regime is trying to jumpstart things, but none of these prospects have taken to the bigs as they should have. Even Heliot Ramos took like 3 extra years to craft major league success, and even still he's faded into the background more than one would hope for.
And so here we are, starting 2026 with no real prospect guys having any part in the 26-man roster. Drew Gilbert did not make it. Bryce Eldridge did not make it. Carson Whisenhunt, despite being 3rd in the depth chart, did not make it. The only person making a debut this series is Daniel Susac, and he's their Rule 5 guy. I get the idea that so many more trustworthy MLB options are in front of them for positions, but need I remind you that this team is hoping to contend for 2nd or 3rd. We're already at 'IF this works' territory, and this is a team with Rafael Devers, Luis Arraez and Matt Chapman on it.
So I'm really intrigued by how the Giants are gonna look against this Yankee team, who also have something to prove, but far less. All the Yankees are trying to do is prove their bullpen's better, the four-man rotation is a working concept and keeping Dominguez and Jones down is a good idea. Both teams are gonna learn right away just how much work they're gonna need to do from now til September. And hopefully the Giants can get closer than they've been in a while to actual legitimacy.
That said, may it be a fun Opening series, and may everybody stay healthy and play their best.

No comments:
Post a Comment